Welcome Visitor. Today is Thursday, September 19, 2019. Sign-on
Follow Us On Facebook
Robinson and Alexander share Dr. Samuel Robinson Award

(FRANKFORT, Ky October 10, 2012) – At its meeting in Frankfort today, the Kentucky Board of Education presented the annual Dr. Samuel Robinson Award to Gregory Ross, Ed.D., principal of McNabb Elementary in the Paducah Independent school district, and Kern Alexander, Ed.D., excellence professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and former president of Murray State University and Western Kentucky University.

Since 2004, the Dr. Samuel Robinson Award has been conferred on an individual or groups in Kentucky for outstanding leadership, commitment and service in promoting equity and opportunity to learn at high levels for all Kentucky students. Robinson was a member of the Kentucky Board of Education for many years in the 1990s and 2000s.

Ross was nominated by Julie Gargus, a teacher at McNabb Elementary, who said he embodied the best qualities of teaching.

“He is a teacher in every aspect of the word,” Gargus said. “Although he has done many things, ranging from international athletics to directing group homes, the portion of his career he has found most rewarding is being an educator.

Alexander was nominated by Michael J. Buckman, director of development for Nazareth Home, Inc. Buckman praised Alexander for his long involvement in public education.

Today, Kentucky is at the top in improving higher education thanks to Dr. Alexander’s efforts in the classroom, the boardroom and in the halls of Frankfort,”   Buckman said.

Printer-friendly format

Do you know someone else who would like to see this?
Your Email:
Their Email:
(Will be included with e-mail)
Secret Code

In the box below, enter the Secret Code exactly as it appears above *


website hit 
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: