Welcome Visitor. Today is Sunday, July 21, 2024. Sign-on
Follow Us On Facebook
December 2014 Commencement to be celebrated at Murray State University

MURRAY, Ky. - Murray State University's December 2014 Commencement ceremony will be held at 10 a.m. on Saturday, Dec. 13, in the CFSB Center, and will begin with the Presentation of Colors by the Paducah Tilghman High School NJRTC Color Guard. There are 873 degree candidates for winter graduation -- 592 undergraduate and 281 graduate candidates.

The Processional will feature "Procession of the Nobles" and the traditional "Pomp and Circumstance."

The Mace Bearer is Dr. Don Chamberlain, the MSU Distinguished Professor and chair of the department of accounting in the Arthur J. Bauernfeind College of Business.

Danielle Geier and Benjamin Linzy, the Outstanding Seniors, will lead in candidates for degrees and deliver the valedictions. Danielle, the daughter of Phillip and Holly-Anne Geier of Morton, Ill., will receive a bachelor of arts degree in secondary English education. Benjamin, the son of Sandra Linzy of Salem, Ky., and the late David Linzy, will receive a bachelor of science degree in criminal justice and history.

MSU President Bob Davies will preside over the ceremony.

Music for Commencement will be provided by the MSU Symphony Orchestra, under the direction of Todd Hill, and the MSU Concert Choir, directed by Dr. Bradley Almquist.

Faculty Marshals are Dr. Dwayne Driskill, Dr. Reika Ebert, Dr. Michael Kemp, Gill Welsch and Dr. Heath Keller.

The faculty will be led in by the recipients of The Regents Teaching Awards for Excellence -- Dr. James McCoy, Dr. Robert Pilgrim, Dr. Ajay Das, Dr. Daniel Hepworth, Cynthia Barnett, Dr. Michael D'Ambrosio, Rudy Ottway and Dr. Alyx Shultz.

They will be joined by Distinguished Faculty Researcher Dr. Tan Zhang, Max Carman Professor and University Distinguished Mentor Dr. David Ferguson, University Emerging Scholars Dr. Bellarmine Ezumah and Dr. Gary Morris, and Faculty Adviser of the Year Dr. David Gibson.

Also marching in with the faculty are Presidential Research Fellow Dr. Terry Derting and the recipient of the Faculty Distinguished Service award Dr. Jack Rose.

The Commencement ceremony includes a Residential College Investiture and an Awarding of Degrees.

Ample general guest parking is available in the Stewart Stadium parking lot, east of the CFSB Center, off of Hwy. 641. Shuttle buses are available to transport guests from the parking lot to the front doors of the CFSB Center beginning at 8 a.m. Buses are also available until 1:30 p.m. to transport guests from the CFSB Center back to the parking lot.

The top two rows of chair seating in the arena is reserved for guests with limited mobility. Limited mobility guests may have two additional guests sit with them. Special seating areas will also be located on each side of the arena. Ushers will be available to assist with seating.

Guests with disabilities who require special assistance should note the parking lot located off of Gilbert Graves Drive is available for a drop-off zone. A handicapped parking tag or special permission will be required to park in that location.

Special requests regarding disabilities may be directed to the office of equal opportunity at 270.809.3155, or the CFSB Center at 270.809.5577 or TDD 270.809.3361.

The event will be streamed online for those who can't attend at www.ustream.tv/channel/msu-commencement.

-- 30 --

Printer-friendly format

Do you know someone else who would like to see this?
Your Email:
Their Email:
(Will be included with e-mail)
Secret Code

In the box below, enter the Secret Code exactly as it appears above *


website hit 
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: