Welcome Visitor. Today is Sunday, January 29, 2023. Sign-on
Follow Us On Facebook
West Kentucky Community and Technical College Named Among Ten Finalist for 2017 Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence

WKCTC has earned a place on the ten finalists' list every year the Prize has been awarded

PADUCAH, KY - September 13, 2016 - West Kentucky Community and Technical College was named today one of ten finalists for the 2017 Aspen Prize for Community College Excellence, the nation's preeminent recognition of high achievement and performance in America's community colleges. WKCTC now enters the last stage of the competition for the $1 million prize fund that will be awarded in March 2017 in Washington, D.C. to the winner and up to four finalists with distinction. (See complete list of finalists below.)

WKCTC's Aspen Prize finalist status has made Dr. Anton Reece's upcoming arrival on campus as the college's new president even more special. Dr. Reece becomes WKCTC's second president on October 1, succeeding President Emeritus Barbara Veazey who retired in July.

"It's exciting to begin my presidency and learn that WKCTC is again being recognized as a national Aspen finalist," Dr. Reece said. "The ongoing national recognition of WKCTC by the Aspen Institute clearly reflects and reiterates the quality and standard of teaching excellence and student engagement that occurs on a daily basis at the college. In addition, the four-time national finalist ranking reflects the level of community, business and industry partners confidence in supporting access and the employability of our graduates."

The 2017 Aspen Prize Finalists (listed in alphabetical order):

WKCTC and Lake Area Technical Institute in Watertown, SD, have been named finalists in four consecutive Prize cycles and two others were finalists for a second time (indicated with #).

· Anoka-Ramsey Community College - Coon Rapids, MN

· Broward College - Fort Lauderdale, FL#

· Chaffey College - Rancho Cucamonga, CA

· Indian River State College - Fort Pierce, FL#

· Lake Area Technical Institute, Watertown, SD

· Northeast Community College - Northeast, NE

· Odessa College - Odessa, TX

· Pasadena City College - Pasadena, CA

· San Jacinto College - Pasadena, TX

· West Kentucky Community and Technical College - Paducah, KY

The Aspen Prize is fundedby the Joyce Foundation, the Siemens Foundation, and the Kresge Foundation

Printer-friendly format

Do you know someone else who would like to see this?
Your Email:
Their Email:
(Will be included with e-mail)
Secret Code

In the box below, enter the Secret Code exactly as it appears above *


website hit 
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: