Welcome Visitor. Today is Monday, June 5, 2023. Sign-on
Follow Us On Facebook
Early history of Hickman County
Historical Society Chair Tom Bugg reads the early history of Hickman County at opening event of 200th anniversary

Once the entire Kentucky portion of the Jackson Purchase was Hickman County.

Andrew Jackson and Isaac Shelby set this story in motion when they negotiated The Chickasaw Treaty of 1818. This treaty transferred a vast amount of Chickasaw Land in west Kentucky and west Tennessee to the US Government.

This huge area was called the Jackson Purchase.

All of Kentucky's share of the Jackson Purchase was named Hickman County after Paschal Hickman, a soldier who died a hero in the war of 1812.

Columbus was then the largest, busiest town in this area, so it became the county seat. Hickman County's first courthouse was built in Columbus in 1823.

This log structure in Columbus was the seat of government until 1829, when residents voted to move the seat of government to Clinton.

Clinton's first courthouse, also a log structure, was built on this site the next year, in 1830.

The Jackson Purchase. was later subdivided into Calloway County (1822), Graves County (1824), McCracken County (1825), Marshall County (1842), Ballard County (1842), Fulton County (1845), and Carlisle County (1886).

Printer-friendly format

Do you know someone else who would like to see this?
Your Email:
Their Email:
(Will be included with e-mail)
Secret Code

In the box below, enter the Secret Code exactly as it appears above *


website hit 
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: