Welcome Visitor. Today is Saturday, June 15, 2024. Sign-on
Follow Us On Facebook
Fulton and Carlisle Counties added to emergency unemployment program

FRANKFORT, Ky. (June 17, 2011) —  Officials from the Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet and the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that four additional Kentucky counties have qualified for Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA), bringing the total to 21 counties.

Kentuckians in Carroll, Fulton, Johnson and Carlisle Counties who have lost work or whose businesses were damaged due to severe weather that occurred beginning April 22, 2011, may be eligible for unemployment insurance benefits.

 “Families must still pay bills and put food on the table in the wake of disasters,” said Governor Steve Beshear. “This assistance may help many get back on their feet.”

Farmers and self-employed people, who are normally not eligible for unemployment insurance benefits, may also qualify for disaster unemployment assistance, according to the Office of Employment and Training (OET), an agency of the Education and Workforce Development Cabinet.

July 18, 2011, is the deadline for applying for benefits. All regular unemployment insurance benefits must be exhausted prior to receiving any disaster benefits. Applications can be filed at local OET offices.

When filing a claim, self-employed individuals should bring a copy of their 2010 income tax return.  Other applicants need only a photo-identification card and their Social Security number.

Boyd, Crittenden, Graves, Hardin, Hickman, Jefferson, Livingston, Marshall, McCracken, Webster and Union counties were previously announced on May 24, 2011. Ballard, Daviess, Henderson, Lawrence, McLean and Pike counties were announced on June 3, 2011. Additional counties may be designated for federal disaster assistance at a later date if requested by the Commonwealth and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

More information about this disaster is available at http://www.kyem.ky.gov/aprilsevereweather.htm.

OET helps individuals prepare for, secure and maintain employment; assists employers in locating and selecting the best qualified workers for their job openings; and provides income maintenance to ease the financial burden on individuals who are out of work through no fault of their own.

The Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet coordinates learning programs from P-16, and manages and supports training and employment functions in the Department of Workforce Investment. For more information about services, visit www.educationcabinet.ky.gov or www.workforce.ky.gov.

Printer-friendly format

Do you know someone else who would like to see this?
Your Email:
Their Email:
(Will be included with e-mail)
Secret Code

In the box below, enter the Secret Code exactly as it appears above *


website hit 
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: