Welcome Visitor. Today is Saturday, April 20, 2024. Sign-on
Follow Us On Facebook
three nominees to fill Hines seat in McCracken

FRANKFORT, Ky. -- The Judicial Nominating Commission, led by Chief Justice of Kentucky John D. Minton Jr., today announced the nominees to fill the vacant circuit judgeship in the 2nd Judicial Circuit, Division 1, which serves McCracken County.

The three attorneys named as nominees to fill the vacancy are Timothy Jon Kaltenbach, Leo Lansden “Lanny” King and Joe Christopher “Chris” McNeill, all of Paducah.

The Circuit Court judgeship was left vacant by Judge R. Jeffrey Hines, who resigned Jan. 10 to join the Senior Judges Program.


Timothy Jon Kaltenbach is the McCracken County commonwealth’s attorney. He earned his juris doctor at the University of Kentucky College of Law, graduating in 1980.

Leo Lansden “Lanny” King is a law partner in the firm of Stout Farmer & King PLLC in Paducah. He earned his juris doctor at the University of Kentucky College of Law, graduating in 1997.

Joe Christopher “Chris” McNeill is the directing attorney of the Department of Public Advocacy’s Paducah office. He earned his juris doctor at the Northern Kentucky University Salmon P. Chase College of Law, graduating in 1997.

Judicial Nominating Process
When a judicial vacancy occurs, the executive secretary of the Judicial Nominating Commission publishes a notice of vacancy in the judicial circuit or the judicial district affected. Attorneys can recommend someone or nominate themselves. The names of the applicants are not released. Once nominations occur, the individuals interested in the position return a questionnaire to the Office of the Chief Justice. Chief Justice Minton then meets with the Judicial Nominating Commission to choose three nominees. Because the Kentucky Constitution requires that three names be submitted to the governor, in some cases the commission submits an attorney’s name even though the attorney did not apply. A letter naming the three nominees is sent to Gov. Steve Beshear for review. The governor has 60 days to appoint a replacement, and his office makes the announcement.

Makeup of the Judicial Nominating Commission
The Judicial Nominating Commission is established in the Kentucky Constitution. Ky. Const. § 118; SCR 6.000, et seq. The commission has seven members. The membership is comprised of the chief justice of Kentucky (who also serves as chair), two lawyers elected by all the lawyers in their circuit/district and four Kentucky citizens who are appointed by the governor. The four citizens appointed by the governor must equally represent the two major political parties, so two must be Democrats and two must be Republicans. It is the responsibility of the commission to submit a list of three names to the governor and the governor must appoint a judge from this list of three.

2010 Election
Circuit and district judges who are appointed to fill vacancies and wish to try to retain their seats will run for elected office in 2010. The regularly scheduled election for district judges is in 2010. District judges serve four-year terms. The next regularly scheduled election for circuit judges is in 2014. Appointees to circuit judgeships must run for election in 2010 and 2014. Circuit judges serve eight-year terms. The election schedule can be found on the Kentucky Secretary of State Web site.

Circuit Court
Circuit Court is the court of general jurisdiction that hears civil matters involving more than $4,000, capital offenses and felonies, divorces, adoptions, termination of parental rights, land dispute title cases and contested probate cases.

Printer-friendly format

Do you know someone else who would like to see this?
Your Email:
Their Email:
(Will be included with e-mail)
Secret Code

In the box below, enter the Secret Code exactly as it appears above *


website hit 
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: